Please be aware that this is a machine translation from French to English. AVICENN is not responsible for incorrect or inaccurate translations but welcomes suggestions for reformulation.

WatchNanos - Physico-chemical characteristics and toxicity of nanomaterials

Physico-chemical characteristics and toxicity of nanomaterials

image
News
more files
Schedule

"Physico-chemical characteristics" and toxicity of nanomaterials

By AVICENN Team – Last Added June 2022

At the nanoscale, we can no longer consider that "It's the dose that makes the poison", this sentence of the doctor and alchemist Paracelsus who founded toxicology and is very often invoked to assess the risks associated with synthetic chemical substances. Scientifically, it is now called into question, in particular by the specific case of the toxicity of nanomaterials on which the physico-chemical characteristics of the nanomaterials considered have a strong influence.

Each of the parameters mentioned below influences the toxicity of nanomaterials. And each of them is itself subject to variation during the life cycle of nanomaterials. Hence the complexity, for researchers, of ruling on the toxicity of nanomaterials.

– Their chemical composition:

  • This is the identity of the substance, for example "silver" or "titanium dioxide"
  • One can extrapolate knowledge that we have on the substance in the macro state, whose known properties (and sometimes toxicity) can be increased tenfold due to surface reactivity.
  • De new properties (or a new toxicity) can also appear specifically at the nanometric scale; they are much more difficult to predict, and we often still know too little about them.
  • Please note, however, that nanomaterials from the same family can not be considered as a “monosubstance”: within the same family, different substances can exhibit toxicity and genotoxicity different1Results of the European program Nanogenotox on the genotoxicity of nanomaterials, presented in French at ANSES, during the Restitution of the national environmental and occupational health research program: Chemical substances and nanoparticles: models for the study of exposure and health effects: Participant's file et Slideshow, November 2013. And "The toxicological assessment of nanomaterials must evolve, according to a European research project", APM International, 14 November 2013. On the genotoxicity of nanomaterials, see also: Genotoxicity of Manufactured Nanomaterials: Report of the OECD expert meeting, OECD, December 2014.

– Their dimension (size and size distribution):

Their nanometric size allows nanomaterials to penetrate the cell and cause harmful effects2See for example Size determines how nanoparticles affect biological membranes, Dunning, H., Imperial College London, September 17, 2020 (press release) and Size dependency of gold nanoparticles interacting with model membranes, Contini, C et al., Nature Communications Chemistry, 130, 2020, but the size of the nanomaterials is not the only one that comes into play; the following list is also decisive.

– Their shape (or morphology):

There is a wide variety of forms of nanoparticles: nanotubes, nanowires, nanosheets, nanocubes, etc. it seems that structures in tubes, fibrous or with multiple facets present a higher toxicity than smooth structures (such as spheres), in connection with the surface reactivity3See for example: The influence of surface coatings of silver nanoparticles on the bioavailability and toxicity to elliptio complanata mussels, Auclair J et al., Journal of Nanomaterials, 2019: Silver nanoparticles harm mussels: High silver levels in freshwater mussels are linked to reduced survival time in air, weight loss during air exposure and DNA damage. ; the toxic action may also prove to be greater on one of the facets, for example for nanomaterials of complex shape and nature (but here again, this will depend on the type of nanomaterial).

– Their specific surface:

it's about the surface of a particle or material in relation to its volume; it has an important role in explaining certain changes in the behavior of the same material (for example powdered sugar will melt more quickly in hot tea than a large lump of sugar)

– Their surface reactivity / surface chemistry (and if applicable, their coating: coating or encapsulation)

– Their state of charge

– Their degrees of agglomeration / aggregation:

– Their solubility (in water, biological fluids, etc.)

– Their crystallinity

– Their dustiness

Elsewhere on the web

- In French :

In English :

A question, a remark ? This sheet produced by AVICENN is intended to be supplemented and updated. Feel free to share your contribution.

The next nano appointments

15
Feb.
2023
Unnoticed and ungoverned: How nanomaterials are slipping through the cracks (ECOS, Brussels and online)
Brussels and online
Conference
  • Hybrid event (face-to-face and online)
  • Organizers: Environmental Coalition on Standards (ECOS), Friends of the Earth Germany (FEDERATION)
  • Speakers: representatives of the European Commission, civil society and research  
  • Website : https://ecostandard.org/…
5
June
2023
NanoSafe conference 2023 (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Conference
  • 8th International Conference on Health Issues for a Responsible Approach to Nanomaterials
  • June 5-9, 2023
  • Organizer: Commissariat for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA)
  • Website : www.cea.fr/cea-tech/pns/nanosafe/…  
22
June
2023
How the world deals with Materials on the Nanoscale – Responsible Use and Challenges (OECD-BMUV, Berlin)
Berlin
Conference
  • International conference from June 22 to 23, 2023
  • Organizers: OECD, German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV)
  • Website : https://www.bmuv.de/…

Sheet created in November 2013


Notes & references

Our watch, our information and our actions need you to last!

Caractéristiques physico-chimiques et toxicité des nanomatériaux

image
Actus
+ de fiches
Agenda

« Caractéristiques physico-chimiques » et toxicité des nanomatériaux

Par l’équipe AVICENN – Dernier ajout juin 2022

A l’échelle nano, on ne peut plus considérer que « c’est la dose qui fait le poison », cette phrase du médecin et alchimiste Paracelse qui avait fondé la toxicologie et est très souvent invoquée pour évaluer les risques liés aux substances chimiques de synthèse. Scientifiquement, elle est désormais remise en question, notamment par le cas spécifique de la toxicité des nanomatériaux sur laquelle influent fortement les caractéristiques physico-chimiques des nanomatériaux considérés.

Chacun des paramètres mentionnés ci-dessous influe sur la toxicité des nanomatériaux. Et chacun d’entre eux est lui-même sujet à variation au cours du cycle de vie des nanomatériaux. D’où la complexité, pour les chercheurs, à statuer sur la toxicité des nanomatériaux.

– Leur composition chimique:

  • Il s’agit de l’identité de la substance, par exemple « argent » ou « dioxyde de titane »
  • On peut extrapoler les connaissances que l’on a sur la substance à l’état macro, dont les propriétés (et parfois la toxicité) connues peuvent être décuplées du fait de la réactivité de surface.
  • De nouvelles propriétés (ou une toxicité nouvelle) peuvent également apparaître spécifiquement à l’échelle nanométrique ; elles sont nettement plus difficiles à prévoir, et on en sait encore souvent trop peu.
  • Attention toutefois, les nanomatériaux d’une même famille ne peuvent pas être considérés comme une « monosubstance » : au sein de la même famille, différentes substances peuvent présenter une toxicité et une génotoxicité différentes1Résultats du programme européen Nanogenotox sur la génotoxicité des nanomatériaux, présentés en français à l’ANSES, lors de la Restitution du programme national de recherche environnement santé travail : Substances chimiques et nanoparticules : modèles pour l’étude des expositions et des effets sanitaires : Dossier du participant et Diaporama, novembre 2013. Et « L’évaluation toxicologique des nanomatériaux doit évoluer, selon un projet européen de recherche », APM International, 14 novembre 2013. Sur la génotoxicité des nanomatériaux, voir également : Genotoxicity of Manufactured Nanomaterials : Report of the OECD expert meeting, OCDE, décembre 2014.

– Leur dimension (taille et distribution de tailles) :

Leur taille nanométrique permet aux nanomatériaux de pénétrer la cellule et y entraîner des effets néfastes2Voir par exemple Size determines how nanoparticles affect biological membranes, Dunning, H., Imperial College London, 17 septembre 2020 (communiqué) et Size dependency of gold nanoparticles interacting with model membranes, Contini, C et al., Nature Communications Chemistry, 130, 2020, mais la taille des nanomatériaux n’est pas le seul qui rentre en ligne de compte ; la liste qui suit est également déterminante.

– Leur forme (ou morphologie) :

Il existe une grande diversité de formes de nanoparticules : des nanotubes, des nanofils, des nanofeuillets, des nanocubes, etc. il semble que les structures en tubes, fibreuses ou à multiples facettes présentent une toxicité plus importante que les structures lisses (comme les sphères), en lien avec la réactivité de surface3Voir par exemple : The influence of surface coatings of silver nanoparticles on the bioavailability and toxicity to elliptio complanata mussels, Auclair J et al., Journal of Nanomaterials, 2019 : Les nanoparticules d’argent nuisent aux moules : les teneurs élevées en argent chez les moules d’eau douce sont liées à un temps réduit de survie dans l’air, à une perte de poids durant l’exposition à l’air et à des dommages à l’ADN. ; l’action toxique peut également se révéler plus importante sur l’une des facettes, par exemple pour les nanomatériaux de forme et nature complexes (mais là encore, cela dépendra du type de nanomatériau).

– Leur surface spécifique :

Il s’agit de la surface d’une particule ou d’un matériau rapportée à son volume ; elle a un rôle important pour expliquer certaines modifications du comportement d’un même matériau (par exemple du sucre en poudre va fondre plus rapidement dans un thé chaud qu’un gros morceau de sucre)

– Leur réactivité de surface / chimie de surface (et le cas échéant, leur revêtement : enrobage ou encapsulation)

– Leur état de charge

– Leurs degrés d’agglomération / agrégation :

– Leur solubilité (dans l’eau, les fluides biologiques, …)

– Leur cristallinité

– Leur pulvérulence

Ailleurs sur le web

– En français :

En anglais :

Une question, une remarque ? Cette fiche réalisée par AVICENN a vocation à être complétée et mise à jour. N'hésitez pas à partager votre contribution.

Les prochains RDV nanos

13
Déc.
2022
Nanotechnologies, virage ou mirage ? (FCE CFDT, Paris)
Paris
  • « Quelles démarches de prévention pour limiter les risques ? »
  • Journée Santé Travail sur l’impact des nanotechnologies sur la santé
  • Organisateur : Fédération Chimie Energie (FCE) de la CFDT
  • Intervenants : FCE, INRS, AVICENN
  • Site internet : www.fce.cfdt.fr/…
31
Jan.
2023
Future-proof Approaches for Risk Governance – Lessons Learned from Nanomaterials (NANORIGO, RiskGONE & Gov4Nano, en ligne)
En ligne
Conférence
  • Conférence
  • Sujet : « future challenges in risk governance of nano- & advanced materials. This includes safe- and sustainable by design (SSbD) and harmonisation and standardisation »
  • Organisateurs : NANORIGO, RiskGONE et Gov4Nano, en collaboration avec le « Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials » de l’OCDE
  • Site internet : www.eventbrite.com/…
5
Juin
2023
NanoSafe conference 2023 (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Conférence
  • 8ème conférence internationale sur les questions sanitaires pour une approche responsable des nanomatériaux
  • Du 5 au 9 juin 2023
  • Organisateur : Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA)
  • Site internet : www.cea.fr/cea-tech/pns/nanosafe/…  

Fiche créée en novembre 2013


Notes & références

Notre veille, nos informations et nos actions ont besoin de vous pour durer !