Please be aware that this is a machine translation from French to English. AVICENN is not responsible for incorrect or inaccurate translations but welcomes suggestions for reformulation.

MonitoringNanos - Nanos and construction

Nanos and construction

image
actus
more files
Events
File
BTP

Nanos and construction

By AVICENN Team – Last Added September 2022

Construction is one of the leading sectors using the most nanomaterials1 See sector number 1 according to the report Industrial realities in the field of nanomaterials in France – Analysis of the reality of the weight of nanomaterials in the industrial sector concerned, D&Consultants for the Directorate General for Competitiveness, Industry and Services (DGCIS, of the Ministry for Productive Recovery), June 2012 . A list of nanomaterials used in construction is available in the annual reports of mandatory declaration of nanomaterials, prepared by the National Health Security Agency (HANDLES) and published by the Ministry of Ecology2See: https://www.ecologie.gouv.fr/nanomateriaux#e3.

In which construction products are nanomaterials found?

Self-cleaning windows, stained wood, cement and concrete3See in particular:
- Fracture toughness of one- and two-dimensional nanoreinforced cement via scratch testing, Akono AT, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A., 379, 2203, Aug 2021
- Reinforce cements by incorporating nanomaterials, Engineering techniques, September 10, 2021
- Nanos in concrete, Mathieu Porchet, Founding Partner at prllx, June 16, 2020
, paintings4See in particular:
- Pigments: The oldest nanomaterials in human history facing modern day challenges, Eurocolour & VDMI, Nanopinion, EUON, June 2020
- What if we thought a little to lower the air conditioning bill?, batiactu, February 2019: “a paint based on white ceramic nanoparticles for flat roofs can lower the air conditioning bill of large buildings”
- List of nano-pigments on the EU market : More than 80 nano-sized pigments were identified on the European market in 2018 by the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
(particularly so-called "depolluting" cements and paints, the benefit-risk ratio of which is not favorable today5See in particular: Paints to purify the ambient air, CEA Liten, November 2020), varnishes, insulation materials, tiles and seals, switches, air ducts, sidewalk and road coatings6It would be nanocoatings of concrete slabs designed by the University of Twente, in the Netherlands, supposed to decompose nitrogen oxides (harmful urban pollutants) marketed in France by the company URBAPT. See “Titanium: promises and risks of a depollutant” in The civilization of nanoproducts, Jean-Jacques Perrier, Belin editions, September 2017, nanomaterials are increasingly used in building and construction.


Yet the legislation does not yet impose thelabeling products used in construction and public works, contrary to what is practiced in cosmetics, biocides andfood.

The register R-nano does not make it possible to precisely identify the products concerned either.

Nanomaterials do not appear (or very little) either in the Environmental and Health Declaration Sheets (FEDS, for construction and decoration products) or safety data sheets (FDS for substances and mixtures), despite the obligation, for the latter, to contain information on nanoforms and their risks since 2021.

It is therefore necessary to cross the sources 7Some documents can help you, including:
-Nano Pigments Inventory, ECHA, 2018: more than 80 nano-sized pigments identified on the European market
-The website nanoshop.com identifies nanomaterials used in construction (windows, metal, etc.).
- Elcosh NANO – Construction Nanomaterial Inventory, Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR): 400 products in September 2014
-Assistance in identifying nanomaterials in companies, INRS, June 2014
-Help sheet for identifying nanomaterials (BTP), Direccte Bretagne, October 2013
, question manufacturers and suppliers, without any guarantee of being able to identify the nanomaterials in the finished products – except by resorting to laboratory tests.

What are they used for?

Nanomaterials are used in construction for their new or enhanced properties compared to conventional materials, structured on a milli- or micrometric scale:

  • the amorphous silica fumes, 100 times smaller than grains of cement, have a very high surface area, from 15 to 30 m²/gram; like the carbon nanotubes, they confer properties of fluidity or increased mechanical resistance, for "very high performance" concretes or nano-structuring repair mortars
  • the titanium dioxide nanoparticles and D'zinc oxide are praised for their ability to reduce soiling, under the effect of UV, of materials used in particular in the construction industry8See in particular:
    – “The City of Arts and Music in Chambéry, inaugurated in 2003, was one of the first buildings whose roofing cement included TiO2; soon followed by the police station in Bordeaux and the Mermoz block in Maisons-Laffitte. The Italian pavilion at the Universal Exhibition in Milan in 2015 and the Jubilee Church in Rome, inaugurated in 2007, are other examples of self-cleaning white buildings using cements based on titanium dioxide": "Titanium: promises and risks of a depollutant » in The civilization of nanoproducts, Jean-Jacques Perrier, Belin editions, September 2017.
    - Nano-coating to protect buildings against pollution, Youris, September 2017
    – Eco-efficient construction and building materials, Torgal, FP & Jalali, S, construction Build. Mater., 25, 582-590, 2011
    – Application of titanium dioxide photocatalysis to create self-cleaning materials, Stamate, M.; Lazar, G. Modell. Optim. Mach., Build. Field (MOCM), 13 (3), 280-285, 2007 such as cement, ceramics, paints, varnishes

  • the silver nanoparticles are used for their antibacterial or antifungal properties
  • thealuminum oxide increases the scratch resistance of materials
  • the nanofoams (hydro-NM-oxide) and nanostructures provide good thermal and sound insulation.

What are the associated risks?

Health and environmental risks

Large-scale use of materials containing nanomaterials is not without environmental risks and worker health exposed.

  • In 2019, the European Scientific Committee on Health, Environmental and Emerging Risks (SCHEER) SCHEER recalled10See Statement on emerging health and environmental issues, Scheer, 2018 warned about nanoparticles released into the environment by construction materials and waste (during renovation and demolition processes, during recycling, landfilling or incineration but also when the nano-coatings are not properly fixed, when they degrade). He recalled that the nanoparticles which then end up in aquatic systems can have adverse effects on aquatic and marine life and in soils. Essential microbial interactions can be disrupted. He lamented thelack of regulations requiring the labeling or identification of construction materials containing nanomaterials, which hampers the necessary identification of sources and flows of nanomaterials that may be released – as well as the assessment of the risks they may entail.
  • In 2019, a LNE webinar presented the risks associated with the thermal degradation of nanomaterials in transport and housing.

Without the possibility of identifying whether nanomaterials are present in the materials used in construction, how can we be sure of their recyclability? This lack of information on the nature of the materials poses a big problem for the circular economy in the building sector.

Economic risks

The risks are not only health and environmental: they are also of an economic nature, in particular for the contracting authorities. Indeed, asbestos removal is still very expensive today and still raises many questions.11See in particular 25 years of asbestos: the scandal continues, InfoDiag, Special Edition, September 2022. The authorities could be led to order the “denanoparticulation” of buildings, during the renovation of paintings or the deconstruction of a building for example, the clients will have to bear the costs!

Faced with the risks, some precautions?

As early as 2008, the Grand Council of the Republic and Canton of Geneva advised against the use of TiO2 nanoparticle on State construction sites as well as in the constructions of private companies12Health: straight into the wall… self-cleaning, Alternative Santé, January 6, 2016 and Report M 1741-A of the Council of State to the Grand Council of Geneva 2008, on the basis of a study carried out by the Cantonal Service for Industrial Toxicology and Protection against Indoor Pollution, which considers that it is “Irresponsible to use such a product before even researching known hazards and assessing their risks”, deplores “the premature use of these products in Italy, France and Belgium” and wish "that these imprudences are not repeated on the territory of our Canton"13Annex 2 of the previous document..

What research is there on the subject?

In France, INRS, INERIS, ANSES, CEA and other research organizations in France and abroad are working to find out more. We relay their publications when we spot them.

At the French level

Of particular note:

  • Project EnDurCrete (2018-2021) carried out within the framework of the European research and innovation program Horizon 2020 thus aims to design innovative, "green" and sustainable concretes, integrating industrial by-products and hybrid systems involving nanotechnology.
  • Le “Release_NanoTox” project (funding ANSES 2015-2018) which aims to provide, through a realistic approach, new knowledge concerning the potential impact of nano-objects made from nanocomposite materials under usage constraints, on brain functions. "The in vivo toxicological impact on brain functions associated with the inhalation of an aerosol is still too little studied", it is specified in LNE. The scientific teams have developed an experimental bench making it possible to rcreate a realistic exposure from TiO2 nanoparticles produced by sanding nanoadditive materials. The Scientific and Technical Center for Building (CSTB) and the LNE (MONA Platform) participated in the aeraulic characterization phase of this bench and in the physico-chemical characterization of the nano-objects emitted in the exposure chamber. Then ANSES and the CarMeN laboratory were involved for the inhalation exposure and analysis phases. in vivo cerebral morphofunctional alterations in mice during exposure. The first results, currently being exploited, show an alteration in the locomotor performance of mice exposed to paints containing TiO2 nanoparticles 14See: -Chronic mice exposure to aerosol emitted from TiO2 nano-additives paints sanding: effect on locomotor activity, Demon F et al., Nanosafe 2018, November 2018
    -In vivo evaluation of the potential neurotoxicity of aerosols released from mechanical stress of nano-TiO2 additived paints in mice chronically exposed by inhalation, Maxinay S et al., J. Phys.: Conf. Ser., 838, 012025
    -Research activity report 2016, LNE, 2016
    .
  • Le IMP-AIR project (Impact of photocatalytic materials on the air quality of indoor environments", CSTB, CEA): The market sees the development of nano-additive materials, many of which claim a depolluting action on the air. The IMP-AIR project studied the efficiency, harmlessness and durability of several photocatalytic materials subjected to different aging conditions: ceramics, paints, coatings and glazes. The project provided new knowledge on the impact of these materials on indoor air quality. This concerns in particular the reaction by-products formed in the presence of chemical pollution representative of indoor environments, and the release of (nano)particles during mechanical stresses.
  • Le EMANE project : "Study of the release of manufactured nano-objects according to the aging of nanocomposite materials dedicated to the building industry" (LNE, CSTB; funding from ADEME)
At the European level

At the European level :

  • The EnDurCrete project (2018-2021) aims to design innovative, "green" and sustainable concretes, integrating industrial by-products and hybrid systems involving nanotechnology, for civil, industrial and offshore applications
  • The NanoGeCo project aims to characterize the non-volatile fractions of aerosol paints in applications in the form of spray coating processes
  • A European research project entitled NanoHouse studied the life cycle of nanomaterials for construction, in particular on chronic exposure for nanoparticles of silver and titanium dioxide contained in paints and coatings used inside and outside homes. Work carried out from 2010 to 2013 evaluated the release rate of nanoparticles from only 1 to 2% – and in the form of agglomerates15Research into the safety of nanoparticles – No nano-dust danger from façade paint, EMPA, 13 January 2014; subsidized to the tune of 2,4 million euros by the European Commission, out of an overall budget of 3,1 million euros, the NanoHouse project ran from January 2010 to June 2013, with French partners CEA et ISearth.But other studies are much less reassuring : a study by INERIS and the University of Compiègne published in early 2015 showed, for example, that the titanium dioxide nanocoating applied to a building facade can deteriorate under the effect of the sun and rain; in doing so, he results in the release of titanium particles into the air within a few months – and what is more, in the form of free particles (more dangerous than when they are agglomerated together or with residues of other materials)16See Shandilya, N et al., Emission of titanium dioxide nanoparticles from building materials to the environment by wear and weather, Environmental Science & Technology, 49(4): 2163-2170, 2015; a lay summary is available free of charge here: Nanocoating on buildings releases potentially toxic particles to the air, “Science for Environment Policy”, European Commission, 28 May 2015, it is therefore appropriate under these conditions to minimize the use of nanocoatings.


Elsewhere on the web

In English :

A remark, a question? This sheet produced by AVICENN is intended to be supplemented and updated. Please feel free to contribute.

The next nano appointments

13
Dec.
2022
Nanotechnology, bend or mirage? (FCE CFDT, Paris)
Paris
  • "What prevention approaches to limit the risks?" »
  • Health and Work Day on the impact of nanotechnology on health
  • Organizer: Chemistry and Energy Federation (FCE) of the CFDT
  • Speakers: FCE, INRS, AVICENN
  • Website : www.fce.cfdt.fr/…
31
Jan.
2023
Future-proof Approaches for Risk Governance – Lessons Learned from Nanomaterials (NANORIGO, RiskGONE & Gov4Nano, online)
Online
Conference
  • Conference
  • Topic: “future challenges in risk governance of nano- & advanced materials. This includes safe- and sustainable by design (SSbD) and harmonization and standardization”
  • Organizers: NANORIGO, RiskGONE et Gov4Nano, in collaboration with the OECD Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials
  • Website : www.eventbrite.com/…
5
June
2023
NanoSafe conference 2023 (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Conference
  • 8th International Conference on Health Issues for a Responsible Approach to Nanomaterials
  • June 5-9, 2023
  • Organizer: Commissariat for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA)
  • Website : www.cea.fr/cea-tech/pns/nanosafe/…  

This listing was originally created in February 2019


Notes & references

Our watch, our information and our actions need you to last!

Nanos et BTP

image
actus
+ de fiches
Agenda
Dossier
BTP

Nanos et BTP

Par l’équipe AVICENN – Dernier ajout septembre 2022

Le BTP arrive dans le peloton de tête des secteurs le plus utilisateurs de nanomatériaux1 Voire le secteur numéro 1 selon le rapport Les réalités industrielles dans le domaine des nanomatériaux en France – Analyse de la réalité du poids des nanomatériaux dans la filière industrielle concernée, D&Consultants pour la Direction générale de la compétitivité, de l’industrie et des services (DGCIS, du Ministère du Redressement productif), juin 2012 . Une liste des nanomatériaux utilisés dans le BTP est disponible dans les bilans annuels de la déclaration obligatoire des nanomatériaux, préparés par l’Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire (ANSES) et publiés par le ministère de l’écologie2Cf:https://www.ecologie.gouv.fr/nanomateriaux#e3.

Dans quels produits du BTP trouve-t-on des nanomatériaux ?

Vitres autonettoyantes, bois lasurés, ciments et bétons3Voir notamment :
Fracture toughness of one- and two-dimensional nanoreinforced cement via scratch testing, Akono AT, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A., 379, 2203, août 2021
Renforcer les ciments par l’incorporation de nanomatériaux, Techniques de l’ingénieur, 10 septembre 2021
Des nanos dans le béton, Mathieu Porchet, Founding Partner at prllx, 16 juin 2020
, peintures4Voir notamment :
Pigments: The oldest nanomaterials in human history facing modern day challenges, Eurocolour & VDMI, Nanopinion, EUON, juin 2020
Et si on réfléchissait un peu pour abaisser la facture de climatisation ?, batiactu, février 2019 : « une peinture à base de nanoparticules céramiques blanches pour les toits plats peut abaisser la facture de climatisation de grands bâtiments »
List of nano-pigments on the EU market : Plus de 80 pigments de taille nano ont été recensés sur le marché européen en 2018 par l’agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA)
(particulièrement les ciments et peintures dits « dépolluants » dont le rapport bénéfices-risques n’est toutefois pas favorable aujourd’hui5Voir notamment : Des peintures pour purifier l’air ambiant, CEA Liten, novembre 2020), vernis, matériaux d’isolation, carrelages et joints, interrupteurs, conduits aérauliques, revêtements de trottoirs et de routes6Il s’agirait de nanorevêtements de dalles de béton conçus par l’université de Twente, aux Pays-Bas, censés décomposer les oxydes d’azote (polluants urbains nocifs) commercialisés en France par la société URBAPT. Cf. « Le titane : promesses et risques d’un dépolluant » in La civilisation des nanoproduits, Jean-Jacques Perrier, éditions Belin, septembre 2017, les nanomatériaux sont de plus en plus utilisés dans le bâtiment et la construction.


Pourtant, la législation n’impose pas encore l’étiquetage des produits utilisés dans la construction et le BTP, à l’inverse de ce qui se pratique dans les cosmétiques, les biocides et l’alimentation.

Le registre R-nano ne permet pas non plus d’identifier précisément les produits concernés.

Les nanomatériaux n’apparaissent pas (ou très peu) non plus dans les Fiches de Déclarations Environnementales et Sanitaires (FEDS, pour les produits de construction et de décoration) ni les fiches de données de sécurité (FDS pour les substances et les mélanges), malgré l’obligation, pour ces dernières, de contenir des informations sur les nanoformes et leurs risques depuis 2021.

Il faut donc croiser les sources 7Quelques documents peuvent vous aider, notamment :
Nano Pigments Inventory, ECHA, 2018 : plus de 80 pigments de taille nano recensés sur le marché européen
-Le site nanoshop.com permet de repérer des nanomatériaux utilisés dans la construction (vitres, métal, …).
Elcosh NANO – Construction Nanomaterial Inventory, Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR) : 400 produits en septembre 2014
Aide au repérage des nanomatériaux en entreprise, INRS, juin 2014
Fiche d’aide au repérage des nanomatériaux (BTP), Direccte Bretagne, octobre 2013
, interroger les fabricants et fournisseurs, sans garantie de pouvoir identifier les nanomatériaux dans les produits finis – si ce n’est en recourant à des tests en laboratoire.

A quelles fins sont-ils utilisés ?

Les nanomatériaux sont utilisés dans le BTP pour leurs propriétés nouvelles ou renforcées par rapport aux matériaux classiques, structurés à l’échelle milli- ou micrométrique :

  • les fumées de silice amorphes, 100 fois plus petites que des grains de ciment, présentent une surface très élevée, de 15 à 30 m²/gramme ; comme les nanotubes de carbone, elles confèrent des propriétés de fluidité ou de résistance mécanique accrue, pour des bétons « très hautes performances » ou des mortiers de réparation nano-structurants
  • les nanoparticules de dioxyde de titane et d’oxyde de zinc sont vantées pour leur faculté de diminuer salissement, sous l’effet des UV, de matériaux utilisés notamment dans le BTP8Cf. notamment :
    – « La Cité des arts et de la musique de Chambéry, inaugurée en 2003, a été l’un des premiers bâtiments dont le ciment de couverture comprenait du TiO2 ; l’ont bientôt suivie l’hôtel de police de Bordeaux et l’îlot Mermoz à Maisons-Laffitte. Le pavillon italien de l’Exposition universelle à Milan en 2015 et l’église du Jubilé à Rome, inaugurée en 2007, sont d’autres exemples de bâtiments blancs autonettoyants utilisant des ciments à base de dioxyde de titane » : « Le titane : promesses et risques d’un dépolluant » in La civilisation des nanoproduits, Jean-Jacques Perrier, éditions Belin, septembre 2017.
    Nano-coating to protect buildings against pollution, Youris, septembre 2017
    – Eco-efficient construction and building materials, Torgal, FP & Jalali, S, Constr. Build. Mater., 25, 582-590, 2011
    – Application of titanium dioxide photocatalysis to create self- cleaning materials, Stamate, M.; Lazar, G. Modell. Otpim. Mach., Build. Field (MOCM), 13 (3), 280-285, 2007 comme le ciment, les céramiques, les peintures, les vernis

  • les nanoparticules d’argent sont utilisées pour ses propriétés antibactérienne ou antifongique
  • l’oxyde d’aluminium accroît la résistance aux rayures des matériaux
  • les nanomousses (hydro-NM-oxyde) et nanostructures confèrent une bonne isolation thermique et phonique.

Quels sont les risques associés ?

Risques sanitaires et environnementaux

L’utilisation à grande échelle de matériaux contenant des nanomatériaux n’est pas sans risques pour l’environnement et la santé des travailleurs exposés.

  • En 2019, le Comité scientifique européen sur les risques sanitaires, environnementaux et émergents (SCHEER) SCHEER a rappelé10Cf. Statement on emerging health and environmental issues, Scheer, 2018 a alerté sur les nanoparticules relarguées dans l’environnement par des matériaux et déchets de construction (lors des processus de rénovation et de démolition, lors du recyclage, de la mise en décharge ou de l’incinération mais aussi lorsque les nano-revêtements ne sont pas correctement fixés, lorsqu’ils se dégradent). Il a rappelé que les nanoparticules qui se retrouvent alors dans les systèmes aquatiques peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur la vie aquatique et marine et dans les sols. Des interactions microbiennes essentielles peuvent être perturbées. Il a déploré l’absence de réglementation exigeant l’étiquetage ou d’identification des matériaux de construction contenant des nanomatériaux, qui entrave l’identification pourtant nécessaire des sources et des flux de nanomatériaux qui peuvent être relargués – ainsi que l’évaluation des risques qu’ils peuvent entraîner.
  • En 2019, un webinar du LNE a présenté les risques liés à la dégradation thermique des nanomatériaux dans le transport et l’habitat.

Sans possibilité d’identifier si des nanomatériaux sont présents dans les matériaux utilisés dans le bâtiment, comment s’assurer de leur recyclabilité ? Ce manque d’informations sur la nature des matériaux pose un gros problème pour l’économie circulaire dans le domaine du bâtiment.

Risques économiques

Les risques ne sont pas seulement sanitaires et environnementaux : ils sont aussi d’ordre économique, notamment pour les maîtres d’ouvrages. En effet, le désamiantage coûte très cher encore aujourd’hui et pose encore de nombreuses questions11Voir notamment 25 ans d’amiante : le scandale continue, InfoDiag, Hors-Série, septembre 2022. Les autorités pourraient être amenées à ordonner le « dénanoparticulage » de bâtiments, à l’occasion des travaux de rénovation de peintures ou de déconstruction d’un bâtiment par exemple, les maîtres d’ouvrage devront en supporter les coûts !

Face aux risques, quelques précautions ?

Dès 2008, le Grand Conseil de la République et canton de Genève a déconseillé l’utilisation du TiO2 nanoparticulaire sur les chantiers de l’Etat ainsi que dans les constructions des entreprises privées12Santé : droit dans le mur… autonettoyant, Alternative Santé, 6 janvier 2016 et Rapport M 1741-A du Conseil d’Etat au Grand Conseil de Genève, 2008, sur la base d’une l’étude réalisée par le Service cantonal de toxicologie industrielle et de protection contre les pollutions intérieures qui considère qu’il est « irresponsable d’utiliser un tel produit avant même de rechercher les dangers connus et d’évaluer leurs risques », déplore « l’emploi prématuré de ces produits en Italie, en France et en Belgique » et souhaite « que ces imprudences ne soient pas répétées sur le territoire de notre Canton »13Annexe 2 du précédent document..

Quelles sont les recherches sur le sujet ?

En France, l’INRS, l’INERIS, l’ANSES, le CEA et d’autres organismes de recherche en France et à l’international travaillent pour en savoir plus. Nous relayons leurs publications quand nous les repérons.

Au niveau francais

A noter plus particulièrement :

  • Le projet EnDurCrete (2018-2021) mené dans le cadre du programme de recherche et d’innovation européen Horizon 2020 vise ainsi à concevoir des bétons innovants, « verts » et durables, intégrant des sous-produits industriels et des systèmes hybrides faisant intervenir des nanotechnologies.
  • Le projet « Release_NanoTox » (financement ANSES 2015-2018) qui vise à apporter, par une approche réaliste, des connaissances nouvelles concernant l’impact potentiel des nano-objets issus de matériaux nanocomposites sous contrainte d’usage, sur les fonctions cérébrales. « L’impact toxicologique in vivo sur les fonctions cérébrales associé à l’inhalation d’un aérosol est encore trop peu étudié », précise-t-on au LNE. Les équipes scientifiques ont développé un banc expérimental permettant de réaliser une exposition réaliste à partir de nanoparticules de TiO2 issues du ponçage de matériaux nanoadditivés. Le Centre Scientifique et Technique du Bâtiment (CSTB) et le LNE (Plateforme MONA) ont participé à la phase de caractérisation aéraulique de ce banc et à la caractérisation physico-chimique des nano-objets émis dans la chambre d’exposition. Puis l’ANSES et le laboratoire CarMeN ont été impliqués pour les phases d’exposition par inhalation et d’analyse in vivo des altérations morphofonctionnelles cérébrales des souris au cours de l’exposition. Les premiers résultats, en cours d’exploitation, montrent une altération des performances locomotrices des souris exposées aux peintures contenant des nanoparticules de TiO2 14Voir: –Chronic mice exposition to aerosol emitted from TiO2 nano-additives paints sanding: effect on locomotor activity, Demon F et al., Nanosafe 2018, novembre 2018
    In vivo evaluation of the potential neurotoxicity of aerosols released from mechanical stress of nano-TiO2 additived paints in mice chronically exposed by inhalation, Maxinay S et al., J. Phys.: Conf. Ser., 838 012025, 2017
    Rapport d’activité Recherche 2016, LNE, 2016
    .
  • Le projet IMP-AIR (Impact des matériaux photocatalytiques sur la qualité de l’air des environnements intérieurs », CSTB, CEA) : Le marché voit se développer des matériaux nano-additivés dont une grande partie revendique une action dépolluante de l’air. Le projet IMP-AIR a étudié l’efficacité, l’innocuité et la pérennité de plusieurs matériaux photocatalytiques soumis à différentes conditions de vieillissement : des céramiques, des peintures, des enduits et des lasures. Le projet a apporté des connaissances nouvelles sur l’impact de ces matériaux sur la qualité de l’air intérieur. Cela concerne notamment les sous-produits réactionnels formés en présence d’une pollution chimique représentative des environnements intérieurs, et le relargage de (nano)particules lors de sollicitations mécaniques.
  • Le projet EMANE : « Etude du relargage de nano-objets manufacturés en fonction du vieillissement de matériaux nanocomposites dédiés au bâtiment » (LNE, CSTB ; financement de l’ADEME)
Au niveau européen

Au niveau européen :

  • Le projet EnDurCrete (2018-2021) vise à concevoir des bétons innovants, « verts » et durables, intégrant des sous-produits industriels et des systèmes hybrides faisant intervenir des nanotechnologies, pour des applications civiles, industrielles et offshore
  • Le projet NanoGeCo vise à caractériser les fractions non volatiles des peintures aérosols dans les applications sous forme de process de revêtements sous forme de spray
  • Un projet de recherche européen intitulé NanoHouse a étudié le cycle de vie des nanomatériaux pour la construction, en particulier sur l’exposition chronique pour les nanoparticules d’argent et de dioxyde de titane contenues dans les peintures et revêtements utilisés en intérieur et à l’extérieur des habitations. Les travaux menés de 2010 à 2013 ont évalué le taux de relargage des nanoparticules de 1 à 2% seulement – et sous forme d’agglomérats15Research into the safety of nanoparticles – No nano-dust danger from façade paint, EMPA, 13 janvier 2014 ; subventionné à hauteur de 2,4 millions d’euros par la Commission européenne, sur un budget global de 3,1 millions d’euros, le projet NanoHouse s’est étalé de janvier 2010 à juin 2013, avec pour partenaires français le CEA et ISTerre.Mais d’autres études sont beaucoup moins rassurantes : une étude de l’INERIS et de l’université de Compiègne publiée début 2015 a par exemple montré que le nanorevêtement de dioxyde de titane appliqué sur une façade de bâtiment peut se détériorer sous l’effet du soleil et de la pluie ; ce faisant, il entraîne le relargage de particules de titane dans l’air en quelques mois – et qui plus est, sous forme de particules libres (plus dangereuses que lorsqu’elles sont agglomérées entre elles ou avec des résidus d’autres matériaux)16Cf. Shandilya, N et al., Emission of titanium dioxide nanoparticles from building materials to the environment by wear and weather, Environmental Science & Technology, 49(4): 2163-2170, 2015 ; un résumé vulgarisé est accessible gratuitement ici : Nanocoating on buildings releases potentially toxic particles to the air, « Science for Environment Policy », Commission européenne, 28 mai 2015, il convient donc dans ces conditions de minimiser le recours aux nanorevêtements.


Ailleurs sur le web

En anglais :

Une remarque, une question ? Cette fiche réalisée par AVICENN a vocation à être complétée et mise à jour. N'hésitez pas à apporter votre contribution.

Les prochains RDV nanos

13
Déc.
2022
Nanotechnologies, virage ou mirage ? (FCE CFDT, Paris)
Paris
  • « Quelles démarches de prévention pour limiter les risques ? »
  • Journée Santé Travail sur l’impact des nanotechnologies sur la santé
  • Organisateur : Fédération Chimie Energie (FCE) de la CFDT
  • Intervenants : FCE, INRS, AVICENN
  • Site internet : www.fce.cfdt.fr/…
31
Jan.
2023
Future-proof Approaches for Risk Governance – Lessons Learned from Nanomaterials (NANORIGO, RiskGONE & Gov4Nano, en ligne)
En ligne
Conférence
  • Conférence
  • Sujet : « future challenges in risk governance of nano- & advanced materials. This includes safe- and sustainable by design (SSbD) and harmonisation and standardisation »
  • Organisateurs : NANORIGO, RiskGONE et Gov4Nano, en collaboration avec le « Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials » de l’OCDE
  • Site internet : www.eventbrite.com/…
5
Juin
2023
NanoSafe conference 2023 (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Conférence
  • 8ème conférence internationale sur les questions sanitaires pour une approche responsable des nanomatériaux
  • Du 5 au 9 juin 2023
  • Organisateur : Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA)
  • Site internet : www.cea.fr/cea-tech/pns/nanosafe/…  

Cette fiche a été initialement créée en février 2019


Notes & références

Notre veille, nos informations et nos actions ont besoin de vous pour durer !