Please be aware that this is a machine translation from French to English. AVICENN is not responsible for incorrect or inaccurate translations but welcomes suggestions for reformulation.

VeilleNanos - European regulation of nanomaterials in biocides

European regulation of nanomaterials in biocides

image
News
+ More info sheets
Agenda

What is the European regulation on nanomaterials in biocides?

By the AVICENN team – Last updated October 2023

What is a biocide?

“Biocidal” products are active substances intended to eliminate organisms “harmful” to human or animal health (insects, microbes, etc.). They cover a very wide range of products, both for industrial and domestic use: mainly household and industrial disinfectants, bactericides, fungicides, insecticides and rodenticides used both curatively (cleaning) and preventively (anti-fouling paint on boats, protection of timber, bactericide inside refrigerators).

Among the nanoparticles with biocidal activities, silver, copper, titanium dioxide and zinc oxide nanoparticles are the most frequently cited.

Pesticides for agricultural use, as well as active substances in medicines and cosmetics and in foodstuffs, are not covered by the European Biocides Regulation, as they are supposed to be covered by other European measures (which do not necessarily refer to their nanometric nature).

However, the regulation applies to products used to disinfect surfaces in contact with food and feed (equipment, containers, eating utensils, surfaces or conduits used for the production, transportation, storage or consumption of food or feed – including drinking water).

What does the Biocides Regulation say about nanomaterials?

The European Biocides Regulation No. 528/2012 was finally adopted by the Council of the European Union on May 10, 2012, to replace Directive 98/8/EC. It came into force on September 1, 2013 for a first set of active substances and in 2020 for the rest. Its provisions are directly applicable as they do not require transposition by the Member States, thus ensuring a more harmonious implementation within the EU.

The definition of nanomaterials in the Biocidal Regulation is the one recommended by the Commission in October 2011, with a threshold of 50% of particles smaller than 100 nm.

Article 58 requires (nano) labeling: “The label shall include (…) the name of all nanomaterials contained in biocidal products, followed by the word “nano” in parentheses.

Because of the specific risks raised by nanomaterials when used as biocides (nano-silver, zinc oxide nanoparticles, copper oxide, etc.), the Biocides Regulation specifies separate safety controls and labels for products containing nanomaterials:

  • Article 69 requests that the label should not only indicate (nano) behind the name of the biocidal nanomaterials but also “any specific risks associated with it”. This provision is a first of its kind as the labeling requirements laid down by other European texts are currently limited to the mention of the term “nano” only. It remains to be seen if and how this is put into practice.
  • As the risks of nanomaterials have not yet been properly assessed, biocides containing nanomaterials require a specific authorization.

A major problem is that the labeling requirement only applies to biocidal products for which biocidal priorities are claimed. This means that biocidal nanoparticles can be used without a marketing authorization or a mention (nano) on the label, as long as they are not being promoted as biocidal by the product manufacturer.

How is it implemented?

Few marketing authorizations

Up to now, according to the report on the implementation of Regulation (EU) No. 528/2012 concerning the marketing and use of biocidal products (published in June 2021):

  • only two biocidal active substances that are nanomaterials have been approved:
    • pyrogenic, synthetic amorphous, nano, surface treated silicon dioxide
    • and synthetic amorphous silicon dioxide (nano).
  • only one product has been authorized in 11 Member States: Synthetic amorphous silicon dioxide (nano ) (for this product, it has been concluded that no exposure to primary particles at the nanoscale is expected during its use).

We do not know which are the two other active nanomaterial substances included in the review program (in 2020, the application for authorization of one of them was rejected because the applicant had not paid the fees).

However, the application of the regulation is still unsatisfactory

The implementation of this regulation raises many challenges – for European and national authorities as well as for the companies concerned.

– at the European level:

As soon as the Regulations came into force, the foreseeable difficulties of interpretation and application of the Regulations were pointed out by researchers1See in particular:
The biocides market for nano actives, Chemical Watch, May 2014: as of this date, more than 6 months after the entry into force of the Regulation, none of the 200 products containing nano-silver listed in their Danish Nanodatabase were labeled (nano)…
EU Regulation of Nanobiocides: Challenges in Implementing the Biocidal Product Regulation (BPR), Brinch A et al, Nanomaterials, 6(2), 33, 2016
.

At the end of 2016, the DGCCRF indicated2Meeting of the labelling working group – nano restriction on 22 November 2016 at the Ministry of the Environment that Synthetic amorphous silica nano dioxide was the only nano substance that had marketing authorization as of November 1, 20153The evaluation of silica dioxide as an insecticidal active substance was finalized by ANSES in 2013, which resulted in early 2014 in its approval at the European level under the Biocides Regulation 528/2012 : COMMISSION EXECUTIVE REGULATION (EU) No 408/2014 approving synthetic amorphous silicon dioxide as an existing active substance for use in biocidal products of product-type 18, 23 April 2014.

Controls were launched at European level in March 2019; their results were published at the end of 20204See in particular:
Inspectors checking consumer products for hazardous chemicals, ECHA, March 2019;
One-third of products claimed to be treated with biocides have incorrect labelling, ECHA, December 2020
Report of the first harmonised project on treated articles, ECHA, BPR Subgroup of the Forum for exchange of information on enforcement – BPRS, December 2020
. Silver, in nano form, is mentioned twice:

  • first in the context of “authorized active substances found in the inspected articles” (table 12, page 44),
  • then under “unauthorized active substances found in inspected articles” (Table 14, page 47).

In August 2021, the decision of non-approval as a biocide of silver “as a nanomaterial” was published in the Official Journal of the European Union (OJEU) for the product types 2, 4 and 9 .

The Problem is that while the Member States are in charge of controlling the proper implementation of the Regulation, they do not all have the same interpretation of the texts… and almost none of them had, until the beginning of the 2020s at least, dedicated specific means to the control of biocidal claims and applications for products containing nanomaterials.

– at the French level:

In June 2022, the General Directorate for Competition, Consumer Affairs and Fraud Control (DGCCRF) announced that it would conduct an investigation in 2021 on so-called “technical” textiles5Technical textiles: between innovation and overbidding, DGCCRF, 3 June 2022. Two of the six antibacterial or “anti-odor” products analyzed were treated with silver nanoparticles, which are currently being classified because of their risks… and without this information being made available to consumers, contrary to the Biocides Regulation. Following the DGCCRF’s investigation, the two operators marketing these products withdrew them from the market. To our knowledge, these were the first checks by national public authorities on the presence of biocidal nanoparticles in non-medical textiles.

To be continued…

Nano-silver free marketing?

Given the risks associated with silver nanoparticles, more and more manufacturers are using the “nano-silver free” argument as a selling point. This is the case of:

More information

Please send us your photos of labels marked [nano]

Send us your photos of labels marked [nano] and specify the references of the product, the date and the place of sale. Several years ago, AVICENN had compiled a (non-exhaustive) list of products containing – or claiming to contain – silver nanoparticles.

Any questions or comments? This information sheet compiled by AVICENN is intended to be completed and updated. Please feel free to contribute.

Upcoming Nano Agenda

6
Juin
2024
Managing the risks associated with nanomaterials (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Training
  • Awareness-raising aimed at personnel in contact with nanomaterials during research, formulation, production, maintenance, cleaning, upkeep, etc., as well as safety coordinators or engineers, facility managers, heads of laboratories where nanoparticles are handled.
  • Organizers: INSTN Grenoble (CEA)
  • On the agenda: potential impact on health; metrology and protection; control of potential risks associated with nanomaterials; consideration of societal aspects.
  • Website: https://instn.cea.fr/formation/maitrise-des-risques-lies-aux-nanomateriaux-sensibilisation
6
Juin
2024
Nanomaterials and Health (ANSES, Maisons-Alfort)
Maisons-Alfort
Dialogue Committee
10
Juin
2024
Nanoparticles NPC-24 (ETH, Zurich)
Zurich
Conference
  • 27th ETH Nanoparticles Conference
  • Organizer: ETH Zurich
  • From June 10 to June 14, 2024
  • Website: https://npc24.scg.ch

This sheet was originally created in February 2019


Notes and references

Our monitoring, information and actions need you to continue !

Quelle réglementation des nanomatériaux dans les biocides en Europe ?

image
Actus
+ de fiches
Agenda

Quelle réglementation des nanomatériaux dans les biocides en Europe ?

Par l’équipe AVICENN – Dernier ajout juin 2022

Qu’est-ce qu’un biocide ?

Les produits « biocides » sont des substances actives destinées à éliminer les organismes « nuisibles » pour la santé humaine ou animale (insectes, microbes, etc.). Ils recouvrent une très large gamme de produits, d’usage industriel mais aussi domestique : principalement des désinfectants ménagers et industriels, bactéricides, fongicides, insecticides et rodenticides utilisés aussi bien de manière curative (nettoyage) que préventive (peinture anti-salissure des bateaux, protection du bois d’oeuvre, bactéricide à l’intérieur des réfrigérateurs).

Parmi les nanoparticules ayant des activités biocides, les nanoparticules d’argent, de cuivre, de dioxyde de titane et d’oxyde de zinc sont les plus fréquemment citées.

Les pesticides à usage agricole ainsi que les substances actives comprises dans les médicaments et cosmétiques ainsi que dans les denrées alimentaires, échappent au règlement Biocides, car ils sont censés être couverts par d’autres mesures européennes (qui ne se réfèrent pourtant pas nécessairement à leur caractère nanométrique).

En revanche, le règlement s’applique aux produits utilisés pour désinfecter les surfaces en contact avec les denrées alimentaires et les aliments pour animaux (matériel, conteneurs, ustensiles de consommation, surfaces ou conduits utilisés pour la production, le transport, le stockage ou la consommation de denrées alimentaires ou d’aliments pour animaux – y compris l’eau potable).

Que prévoit le Règlement Biocides concernant les nanomatériaux ?

Le Règlement Biocides a été définitivement adopté par le Conseil de l’Union européenne le 10 mai 2012, pour remplacer la directive 98/8/CE. Il est entré en vigueur au 1er septembre 2013 pour une première série de substances actives et en 2020 pour le reste. Ses dispositions sont donc directement applicables car elles ne demandent pas transposition par les États membres, garantissant ainsi une mise en oeuvre plus harmonieuse au sein de l’UE.

La définition des nanomatériaux retenue dans le Règlement biocides est celle recommandée par la Commission en octobre 2011, avec un seuil à 50% de particules en nombre inférieures à 100 nm.

En raison des risques soulevés de façon spécifique par les nanomatériaux utilisés comme biocides (nanoargents, nanoparticules d’oxyde de zinc, d’oxyde de cuivre, etc.), le Règlement Biocides prévoit des contrôles de sécurité et des étiquettes distincts pour les produits contenant des nanomatériaux :

  • L’article 69 demande à ce que l’étiquette indique non seulement la présence de nanomatériaux dans le produit, avec le terme « nano » entre parenthèses, mais aussi « les risques spécifiques éventuels qui y sont liés » ; cette disposition constitue une première, les obligations d’étiquetage prévues par d’autres textes européens étant jusqu’ici limitées à la seule mention du terme « nano » ; reste à voir si et comment elle est mise en pratique.
  • Les risques des nanomatériaux n’ayant pas encore fait l’objet d’une évaluation appropriée, les biocides contenant des nanomatériaux nécessitent une autorisation spécifique.

A noter, un problème de taille : l’obligation d’étiquetage ne concerne que les produits biocides pour lesquels des priorités biocides sont revendiquées. Ce qui signifie que des nanoparticules biocides peuvent être utilisées sans faire l’objet d’une autorisation de mise sur le marché ni d’une mention (nano) sur l’étiquette, dès lors qu’elles ne sont pas revendiquées par le fabricant du produit ?

Quelle mise en oeuvre ?

Peu d’autorisations de mise sur le marché

Selon le rapport relatif à la mise en œuvre du règlement (UE) nº 528/2012 concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l’utilisation des produits biocides (publié en juin 2021), jusqu’à présent :

  • seules deux substances actives biocides qui sont des nanomatériaux ont été approuvées :
    • le dioxyde de silicium pyrogène, synthétique amorphe, nano, traité en surface
    • et le dioxyde de silicium synthétique amorphe (nano).
  • un seul produit a été autorisé dans 11 États membres : le Synthetic amorphous silicon dioxide (nano) (pour ce produit, il a été conclu qu’aucune exposition aux particules primaires à l’échelle nanométrique n’est attendue pendant son utilisation).

Deux autres substances actives qui sont des nanomatériaux sont incluses dans le programme d’examen (en 2020, la demande d’autorisation de l’une d’entre elles a été rejetée, car le demandeur n’avait pas payé les redevances). Lesquels ?

Mais une application du règlement encore peu satisfaisante

L’application de ce règlement soulève de nombreux défis – tant pour les pouvoirs publics européens et nationaux que pour les entreprises concernées.

– au niveau européen :

Dès son entrée en vigueur, les difficultés prévisibles d’interprétation et d’application du Règlement ont été pointées par des chercheurs1Voir notamment :
The biocides market for nano activesChemical Watch, mai 2014 : à cette date, soit plus de 6 mois après l’entrée en vigueur du Règlement, aucun des 200 produits contenant du nanoargent répertoriés dans leur Nanodatabase danoise n’était étiqueté (nano)…
EU Regulation of Nanobiocides: Challenges in Implementing the Biocidal Product Regulation (BPR), Brinch A et al., Nanomaterials, 6(2), 33, 2016
.

Fin 2016, la DGCCRF a indiqué2Réunion du groupe de travail étiquetage – restriction nano le 22 novembre 2016 au ministère de l’environnement que la nano dioxyde de silice amorphe synthétique était la seule substance nano à avoir été approuvée (en 2014), à compter du 1er novembre 20153L’évaluation du dioxyde de silice en tant que substance active insecticide a été finalisée par l’ANSES en 2013, ce qui a abouti début 2014 à son approbation au niveau européen dans le cadre du règlement Biocides 528/2012 : RÈGLEMENT D’EXÉCUTION (UE) No 408/2014 DE LA COMMISSION approuvant le dioxyde de silicium amorphe synthétique en tant que substance active existante destinée à être utilisée dans des produits biocides du type de produits 18, 23 avril 2014.

Des contrôles ont été lancés au niveau européen en mars 2019 ; leurs résultats ont été publiés fin 20204Voir notamment :
Inspectors checking consumer products for hazardous chemicals, ECHA, mars 2019 ;
One-third of products claimed to be treated with biocides have incorrect labelling, ECHA, décembre 2020
Report of the first harmonised project on treated articles, ECHA, BPR Subgroup of the Forum for exchange of information on enforcement – BPRS, décembre 2020
; l’argent sous forme nano (« silver, nano form ») est mentionné deux fois :

  • d’abord dans le cadre des « substances actives autorisées trouvées dans les articles inspectés » (tableau 12, page 44),
  • ensuite dans le cadre des « substances actives non autorisées trouvées dans les articles inspectés » (tableau 14, page 47).

En août 2021, la décision de non-approbation comme biocide de l’argent « en tant que nanomatériau » a été publiée dans le Journal official de l’Union européenne (JOUE) pour les types de produits 2, 4 et 9.

Problème : ce sont les Etats membres qui sont chargés des contrôles de la bonne mise en oeuvre du Règlement, or ils n’ont pas tous la même interprétation des textes… et quasiment aucun n’avait, jusqu’au début des années 2020 du moins, dédié de moyens spécifiques au contrôle des allégations et applications biocides pour des produits contenant des nanomatériaux.

– au niveau français

En juin 2022, la Direction générale de la concurrence, de la consommation et de la répression des fraudes (DGCCRF) a annoncé avoir mené en 2021 une enquête sur les textiles dits « techniques »5Cf. Textiles techniques : entre innovation et surenchère, DGCCRF, 3 juin 2022 : deux des six produits antibactériens ou « anti-odeurs » analysés étaient traités avec des nanoparticules d’argent, en cours de classification du fait de leurs risques… et sans que cette information ne soit portée à la connaissance des consommateurs, contrairement à ce qu’impose le Règlement biocides. À la suite de l’enquête de la DGCCRF, les deux opérateurs commercialisant ces deux produits les ont retirés du marché. Il s’agit, à notre connaissance, des premiers contrôles par des autorités publiques nationales sur la présence de nanoparticules biocides dans des textiles non médicaux. A suivre donc…

Un marketing « sans nanoargent »?

Étant donné les risques associés aux nanoparticules d’argent, de plus en plus d’industriels se servent de l’argument « sans nano-argent » comme d’un argument commercial. C’est notamment le cas de :

Envoyez-nous vos photos d'étiquettes portant la mention [nano] !

Envoyez vos clichés des premières étiquettes portant la mention [nano] en précisant les références du produit, la date et le lieu de vente. Il y a plusieurs années, AVICENN avait procédé à une compilation des repérages (non exhaustifs) de produits contenant – au affichant contenir – des nanoparticules d’argent.

Une remarque, une question ? Cette fiche réalisée par AVICENN a vocation à être complétée et mise à jour. N'hésitez pas à apporter votre contribution.

Les prochains RDV nanos

27
Août
2022
Journées d’Été des Savoirs Engagés et Reliés (Collectif associatif, Lyon)
Lyon
Colloque
  • Journées d’Été des Savoirs Engagés et Reliés, ouvertes à tous
  • Du 27 au 29 août 2022
  • Organisateurs : collectif national d’associations engagées dans la coopération entre recherches et mouvements sociaux pour la transition écologique et solidaire (Atécopol, Coexiscience, Écopolien, la Fabrique des Questions Simples, Ingénieur.e.s Sans Frontières, Ingénieur.e.s Engagé.e.s Lyon, Klask, La Myne, PiNG, RogueESR, Sciences Citoyennes)
  • Site internet : www.mouvement-ser.org
22
Sep.
2022
Bonnes pratiques de prévention des risques liés aux nanomatériaux : sensibilisation et mise en situation en laboratoire (CNRS, Paris)
Paris
Formation
  • Formation à destination des manipulateurs de nanomatériaux (techniciens, ingénieurs, doctorants, chercheurs, etc.) ainsi qu’aux assistants de prévention
  • Organisateur : CNRS
  • Site internet : https://formation.ifsem.cnrs.fr/…
29
Sep.
2022
Nanomatériaux et cosmétiques (LNE, Paris)
Paris
Formation
cosmétiques
caractérisation
déclaration
étiquetage
évaluation
réglementation
  • Journée technique
  • Au programme : Nanomatériaux et cosmétiques : exigences réglementaires, évaluation d’exposition, méthodes de caractérisation
  • Organisateur : Laboratoire national de métrologie et d’essais (LNE)
  • Intervenants :
    • Georges Favre, Valérie Godefert et François-Xavier Ouf, LNE
    • Eric Gaffet, SCCS
    • Jérôme Labille, CEREGE
    • DGCCRF
  • Site internet : www.lne.fr/fr/service/formation/journee-technique-nanomateriaux-cosmetiques

Cette fiche a été initialement créée en février 2019


Notes & références

Notre veille, nos informations et nos actions ont besoin de vous pour durer !