Evaluation of National Environmental Health Plans (PNSE): focus on nanos

.
.
.

The High Council for Public Health (HCSP) has published its Overall assessment of National Health-Environment Plans (2004-2019) this Monday, June 20. Dated March 2022, it traces the evolution of public health-environment policies in France over the past fifteen years and issues general and other more specific recommendations. Those concerning the issue of manufactured nanomaterials – on which the HCSP heard AVICENN in May 2021 – are presented below.

Contributions of PNSE to the consideration of nanomaterials

The HCSP concludes that the PNSE 2 and 3 have, in a global way, made it possible to highlight the complex theme of nanomaterials, “poorly perceived by the public and little taken into account at EU level in 2009, at the start of NEHAP 2, in particular in the field of regulation”. However, he considers that “the role of the PNSE in bringing this theme is not clearly identified. (…) the dynamic was initiated on the occasion of the Grenelle de l'environnement and the national debate on nanotechnology which allowed it to be taken into account in the PNSE 2″.

HCSP recommendations concerning nanos

Governance around nanos in France

The HCSP relays calls from civil society (including AVICENN) to “more transversality between ministries to increase efficiency”. It points out situations of duplication between the action carried out at the national level within the framework of r-nano and the actions carried out in the regions (within the framework of the PRSEs) and calls for “creating synergies and complements” between these two levels. The HCSP relays the remarks of AVICENN and associations that "ultimately want more information, awareness and communication, but also sanctions from the public authorities when the breaches are noted" and more transversality of ministries which tend to act individually "in their organ pipe", at the central level as well as at the decentralized level (in the DREETS or in the DREALs): “Each administration carries out its inspection in companies, without sharing information and without coordinating actions. It would be appropriate to set up a “nanos task force” which would centralize information and work and which would also be available at regional level”.

r-nano register

The HSCP confirms that « the r-nano register must be improved because poorly filled by manufacturers and difficult to use because of too restrictive access. Its openness must be wider and, in particular, to researchers working on the relationship between exposure and health effects in epidemiological studies." page (in French).
The HCSP is also in favor of an increase in resources dedicated to r-nano: “ ANSES has a single person to manage the R-Nano register, respond to requests from declarants, support them and produce the annual report, which is notoriously insufficient to steer and lead the action”.

EpiNano device

The HCSP also recommends the removal of the difficulties encountered by the EpiNano epidemiology device monitoring of the health of workers exposed to nanomaterials, via “texts, and a decree or a circular” aimed at making the system restrictive (since the voluntary work on which it is based did not make it possible to integrate a sufficient number of companies and workers).

Research on the risks associated with nanomaterials

The HCSP recommends supporting research aimed at better understanding the health impacts of exposure to nanomaterials.

It also asks that the health risks of new technologies be taken into account “balance between risks and their socio-economic utility”.

Lastly, he would like a "safe(r) by design" approach to be preferred, which looks at all the risks and must be carried out before bringing innovations to market.

Public information

Noting with AVICENN the weakness of the PNSE 4 concerning the issues of information and awareness on nanomaterials, the HCSP recommends"Improving public information on the presence of nanomaterials in consumer products through clear labeling ("composcore" according to the HCSP opinion of 27/08/2020 or "toxiscore") and strictly enforce regulations ".

It now remains to be seen how these recommendations will be taken into account to optimize the implementation of the PNSE 4.

The next nano meetings

15
Feb.
2023
Unnoticed and ungoverned: How nanomaterials are slipping through the cracks (ECOS, Brussels and online)
Brussels and online
Conference
  • Hybrid event (face-to-face and online)
  • Organizers: Environmental Coalition on Standards (ECOS), Friends of the Earth Germany (FEDERATION)
  • Speakers: representatives of the European Commission, civil society and research  
  • Website : https://ecostandard.org/…
5
June
2023
NanoSafe conference 2023 (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Conference
  • 8th International Conference on Health Issues for a Responsible Approach to Nanomaterials
  • June 5-9, 2023
  • Organizer: Commissariat for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA)
  • Website : www.cea.fr/cea-tech/pns/nanosafe/…  
22
June
2023
How the world deals with Materials on the Nanoscale – Responsible Use and Challenges (OECD-BMUV, Berlin)
Berlin
Conference
  • International conference from June 22 to 23, 2023
  • Organizers: OECD, German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV)
  • Website : https://www.bmuv.de/…

L’évaluation des Plans nationaux santé environnement (PNSE) : zoom sur les nanos

.
.
.

Le Haut conseil de la santé publique (HCSP) a publié son Évaluation globale des Plans nationaux santé – environnement (2004-2019) ce lundi 20 juin. Daté de mars 2022, il retrace l’évolution des politiques publiques en santé-environnement en France au cours des quinze dernières années et émet des recommandations générales et d’autres plus spécifiques. Celles concernant la question des nanomatériaux manufacturés – sur laquelle le HCSP a auditionné AVICENN en mai 2021 – sont présentées ci-dessous.

Contributions des PNSE à la prise en compte des nanomatériaux

Le HCSP conclut que les PNSE 2 et 3 ont, d’une façon globale, permis de mettre en lumière la thématique complexe des nanomatériaux, « mal perçue par le public et peu prise en compte au niveau de l’UE en 2009, au début du PNSE 2, en particulier dans le domaine de la réglementation ». Pour autant, il considère que « le rôle des PNSE pour porter cette thématique n’est pas clairement identifié. (…) la dynamique a été engagée à l’occasion du Grenelle de l’environnement et du débat national sur les nanotechnologies qui ont permis sa prise en compte dans le PNSE 2″.

Recommandations du HCSP concernant les nanos

Gouvernance autour des nanos en France

Le HCSP relaie les appels de la société civile (dont AVICENN) à « plus de transversalité entre les ministères pour gagner en efficacité ». Il pointe les situations de doublons entre l’action menée au niveau national dans le cadre de r-nano et les actions portées dans les régions (dans le cadre des PRSE) et appelle à « créer des synergies et des compléments » entre ces deux niveaux. Le HCSP relaie les remarques d’AVICENN et des associations qui « souhaitent au final plus d’information, de sensibilisation et de communication, mais également de sanctions de la part des pouvoirs publics quand les manquements sont constatés » et davantage de transversalité des ministères qui tendent à agir chacun « dans leur tuyau d’orgue », au niveau central comme au niveau déconcentré (dans les DREETS ou dans les DREAL) : « chaque administration mène son inspection dans les entreprises, sans partage d’information et sans coordination des actions. Il conviendrait de mettre en place une « task force nanos » qui centraliserait les informations et les travaux et qui se déclinerait également au niveau régional ».

Registre r-nano

Le HSCP confirme que « le registre r-nano doit être amélioré car mal rempli par les industriels et difficilement utilisable car d’accès trop restrictif. Son ouverture doit être plus large et, en particulier, aux chercheurs qui travaillent sur la relation entre exposition et effets sanitaires dans les études épidémiologiques« .
Le HCSP se prononce également pour une hausse des moyens dédiés à r-nano : « L’Anses dispose d’une seule personne pour assurer la gestion du registre R-Nano, répondre aux demandes des déclarants, les accompagner et produire le rapport annuel, ce qui est notoirement insuffisant pour piloter et animer l’action ».

Dispositif EpiNano

Le HCSP préconise aussi la levée des difficultés auxquelles se heurte le dispositif d’épidémiologie EpiNano de suivi de la santé des travailleurs exposés aux nanomatériaux, via « des textes, et un décret ou une circulaire » visant à rendre le dispositif contraignant (puisque le volontariat sur lequel il est basé n’a pas permis d’intégrer un nombre suffisant d’entreprises et de travailleurs).

Recherches sur les risques associés aux nanomatériaux

Le HCSP recommande de soutenir les recherches qui visent à mieux connaitre les impacts sanitaires des expositions aux nanomatériaux.

Il demande aussi que soit prise en compte, dans l’évaluation des risques sanitaires des nouvelles technologies, la « balance entre les risques et leur utilité socio-économique ».

Il souhaite enfin que soit privilégiée une approche « safe(r) by design » qui regarde l’ensemble des risques et doit être menée avant la mise sur le marché des innovations.

Information du public

Constatant avec AVICENN la faiblesse du PNSE 4 concernant les enjeux d’information et de sensibilisation sur les nanomatériaux, le HCSP préconise d’« améliorer l’information du public sur la présence des nanomatériaux dans les produits de consommation par le biais d’un étiquetage clair (« composcore » selon l’avis du HCSP du 27/08/2020 ou « toxiscore ») et faire respecter strictement la réglementation ».

Reste désormais à voir comment ces recommandations seront prises en compte pour optimiser la mise en oeuvre du PNSE 4.

Les prochains RDV nano

27
Fév.
2024
Global Webinar on Nanotechnology and Nanoscience (En ligne)
En ligne
Wébinaire
  • 3ème édition du « Global Webinar on Nanotechnology and Nanoscience »
  • Du 27 au 28 Février 2024
  • Organisateurs : Global Scientific Guild
  • Thématique principale : Insights and Innovations in Nanotechnology and Nano Science: Progressing to the future

6
Mars
2024
Maîtrise des risques liés aux nanomatériaux (CEA, Grenoble)
Grenoble
Formation
  • Sensibilisation destinée aux personnels au contact de nanomatériaux en phase de recherche, formulation, production, maintenance, nettoyage, entretien… ainsi qu’aux animateurs ou ingénieurs de sécurité, chefs d’installation, chefs de laboratoires où sont manipulées des nanoparticules.
  • Organisateur : INSTN Grenoble (CEA)
  • Au programme : impact potentiel sur la santé ; métrologie et protections ; maîtrise des risques potentiels liés aux nanomatériaux ; prise en compte des aspects sociétaux
  • Site internet : https://instn.cea.fr/formation/maitrise-des-risques-lies-aux-nanomateriaux-sensibilisation
14
Mars
2024
Les nanoparticules dans les produits du quotidien (ATC, Paris)
Paris
Formation
  • Module dispensé dans le cadre de la formation « Interactions entre les produits chimiques toxiques et l’organism humain » accessible à toute personne possédant un niveau de formation scientifique de base (niveau licence ou expérience professionnelle).
  • Organisateur : Association Toxicologie Chimie (ATC)
  • Intervenante : Nicole PROUST, Ingénieure Recherche, Directeur de recherche honoraire du CNRS, Spécialiste Nanotechnologies, Arsenic, Ondes électromagnétiques, Palaiseau
  • Site internet : https://www.atctoxicologie.fr/notre-formation.html